jen spencer coaches


Spring cleaning this Fall
10 06 09, 2:29 am
Filed under: General, Growth + Development, Thought-Provoking

Last weekend, I went on a tear cleaning up my home office, computer and closets. Even though I’m a fairly neat and organized person, I was floored by the stuff I discovered.

I’ll air out a dirty drawer of specifics:

· Hundreds of already entered old business cards from past meetings

· A box of old JSC branding collateral from two evolutions ago

· White jeans from 1999 that I swore were going to look good on me one day

· A decade-old portable CD player.

· Old printer cords and boxes that once held electronics

· A stack of 8×10 pics, showcasing that horrendously awkward stage around 3rd grade. I’m not above vanity, yet a wallet size would have been enough.

Several Wilco albums later, the piles were finally complete. In one corner, trash. In the other, giveaway bags. Four hours spent getting complete on older versions of myself; purging, organizing, choosing and I finally realized what I had created: Much needed space.

My cleaning had gone beyond making new-found freedom in the junk drawer, it also cleared space for that which I wanted to manifest. Seasonally speaking, Autumn is a natural time for change. Harvest Moons give us brighter nights to finish gathering those much-needed crops.

So now I ask you, what space can you create in your life? What can you purge? What can you harvest?

First, define your crop. Where did you put most of your energy and labor this Spring and Summer? Whether you have been re-organizing your company, looking for a job, enjoying some down time, creating a website or making a baby, you’ve been planting lots of seeds, even if you didn’t know which vegetable you were planting.

Be clear about what crop you want to reap – more space, better results, focused creativity.

Secondly, take inventory. It’s essential to growth to reflect on where you’ve been and see reality. Do you have a crop that needs to be moved because it’s taking up the resources of more powerful bearing fruits? Did you plant a crop that no longer tastes good to you?

Taking inventory allows for you to unearth a forgotten skill, to discover an item you can use or to recognize a behavior you have that is (or isn’t) working for you. Through this process, we create space for new possibilities to appear.

Where would your ‘spring’ cleaning best serve you?

In strategy? In action? In relationships? In completion?

Consciously defining and creating your space gives your dreams and goals a place to live. Enjoy the harvest!

Your Wing Woman,

jen

SCITHF

Recommended Reading:

Fetzer Institute’s Seasons

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’m about to spring clean my office to optimize it for my 3 jobs:
- Sell website development services
- Develop and deliver executive coaching engagements
- Write my parenting blog
Thanks for the great post! It was timely and inspirational.

P.S. We should catch up soon. Shoot me an email with some good times for you next week! I’m Eastern time now.

Comment by Jennie




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

